When a child becomes sick or gets severely injured, knowledge of First Aid and CPR can save the life of that child. There are various licensed childcare programs or trainings which are available and are certified and approved by the State of California Emergency Medical Services Authority-EMSA.
This EMSA training consists of 8 hours of First Aid & CPR Training and 8 hours of Preventive Health & Safety Training and provides necessary training for childcare providers to meet the requirements of California State Law and meets the needs of AB 1542. The training also includes a CD and a manual of 279 page including forms for operation of the childcare included in the cost of the class.
All Childcare Providers are required to attend an 8 hour class on the following mentioned material before being licensed to care for the children:
Understanding the spread of disease
Preventive Health Practices
Preventive Health Policies
The EMSA licensed childcare providers are also required to renew their training by completing 4 hours of pediatric first aid and 4 hours of pediatric CPR which include adult CPR and infant child, and adult AED training with other topics which are required to be covered in the training.